Colorado Ski and Snowboard Hall of Fame Inducts Telluride’s Ron Allred Next Month
by Watch Staff
Nov 03, 2011 | 1037 views | 0 0 comments | 4 4 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Jack Benedick, Charles Elliott, John Garnsey and Chris Klug Are Fellow Honorees

The Colorado Ski and Snowboard Hall of Fame will induct five new honorees, including former Telluride Ski and Golf Co. CEO Ron Allred, and honor Annual Awards’ winners in the following categories – Top of the Hill, Competitor of the Year, Collegiate Skier of the Year and Adaptive Skier of the Year – on Friday, Nov. 4.

Allred is credited with saving Telluride after the collapse of its 100-year-old mining industry in 1978, and developing the fledgling ski area into a year-round mountain resort, complete with a world-class ski mountain and golf course, an airport, and the Town of Mountain Village, which is linked to the Town of Telluride by a unique-to-the-U.S. gondola transportation system.

Joining Allred and the 186 athletes and industry pioneers honored to date for significant contributions to Colorado's ski industry are Jack Benedick, of the U.S. Adaptive Ski Team; Charles Elliott, of Wolf Creek; John Garnsey, of Vail/Beaver Creek; and Chris Klug, the only organ transplant recipient to ever compete in the Winter Olympics.

The five inductees will be honored at the Omni Interlocken Resort in Broomfield. The public is invited to purchase tickets to the event.

Annual Award Winners include the Aspen Valley Ski/Snowboard Club (Top of the Hill); Lindsey Vonn (Competitor of the Year); Seppi Stiegler (Male Collegiate Skier); and Alana Nichols (Adaptive Skier of the Year).

For more information, call 970/476-1876 or visit

Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet