Montrose Names Three Teachers of the Year
by Watch Staff
May 10, 2011 | 1360 views | 0 0 comments | 5 5 recommendations | email to a friend | print
MONTROSE –  Three teachers from the Montrose School District were recognized for excellence on Tuesday, May 3, by the Montrose Education Foundation at its annual Teacher of the Year recognition breakfast at the Holiday Inn.

More than 40 people attended the invitation-only event at which Montrose High School's Doug Eccher, Centennial Middle School's Greg Whitsell and Northside Elementary School's Jamie Simo, selected from a field of 60 teachers nominated last fall, were declared Teachers of the Year.

MEF boardmember Dale Davidson explained that "because of the unique instructional talent needed to teach in elementary, middle or high school, the Montrose Education Foundation seeks to honor a teacher from all three levels of instruction.”

In welcoming the audience, Montrose Education Foundation boardmember Sandy Head said, “In 1953, Eleanor Roosevelt persuaded Congress to declare the first Tuesday in May as National Teacher Appreciation Day. The Montrose Education Foundation thought this an ideal day to announce the 2011 Teacher of the Year. We are delighted to be here to recognize excellence in teaching. Every one of you is an example of that excellence by your nomination and by your participation in this program.”

As the 2011 Teachers of the Year, the three teachers will each receive $500 from Alpine Bank, the program’s corporate sponsor. Previous recipients include Bruce Grigsby, Kathy Heavers, Kathy Bowman, Russ Sullivan, Jeffra Walters, John King, Bill Hamm, Silas Almgren, Mike Nadiak, Crystal Sabatke-Smith and Vi Conklin. The program is sponsored by the Montrose Education Foundation. Nominations may be submitted by community members, parents, colleagues, or students and are open in October of each year.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet