Ouray Chamber and Visitors Center Thanks
Sep 17, 2009 | 1386 views | 0 0 comments | 11 11 recommendations | email to a friend | print

This summer the Chamber and Visitors Center have been extremely busy with guests, events, and of course, a ton of marketing. The work we do takes a lot of time, research and attention. Once people come to town, we give our guests the same attention we give to our marketing efforts and program development.

There are some very special people we want to thank, for their support and assistance made a big difference! First and foremost, we would like to thank the U.S. Forest Service (USFS) and the Ouray Trail Group for their commitment to trail maintenance and environmental education. In collaboration with the USFS, the Ouray Trail Group hosted nine summer volunteers at the Visitors Center: Charlie Berger, Steve Caldwell, Dwayne Compton, Bob Eyler, John Ferguson, Mick Graff, Henry Hooper, Dick Neville, and Walt Rule who assisted over 1,200 visitor requests on hiking alone. Thank you guys!

Also at the Visitors Center, Sandra Swenson and Connie Foy helped answer the phones while assisting guests in the lobby. With over 20,300 visitors to date, their help was much more than just appreciated – but also a breath of fresh air. Connie relieved us to take a lunch break or a short walk outside. Susie Opdahl and Gail Jossie worked hard on our flower garden as well. Thank you ladies!

And, with Taste of Ouray and Grillin’, Chillin’ & Thrillin’ music and brewfest, we have several people to thank. Hats off to Rob Megna for organizing the music at both events. Karen and Rich Avery for being our strength and motivators in getting the job done with some muscle. Ouray Mule and Carriage, Jeff Bearden, Connie Foy, Suzette Warynick, Elysa Barron, Robert Stoufer, Bob Miller, Barbara Uhles, Bev and Bruce Dwire, Dan Clark, Paul Evens, Bobby Banta, Lindsey Mayfield, Ethan Funk, Scott Schroder, Eric Funk, Jeff Bush, Faith Perry, David Westfall, Faith and Alan Cook, and the San Juan Mountain Guides for their assistance at our events – making them possible and providing the support team necessary. Thank you to the Western Slope brewers who participated in Grillin’, Chillin’, & Thrillin’ and our BLM volunteers Linda and Jana and a few others from Grand Junction and Durango. A very special thank you to Colorado Boy Brewery and the Ourayle House for participating at all of our events with quality, tasty brews made right here in Ouray County. Morning Song B&B, Ouray Elks, Ouray Chalet Inn, Comfort Inn, Best Western, Box Canyon Lodge, Hot Springs Inn, Matterhorn Motel, Timber Ridge Lodge, Rivers Edge, Secret Garden B&B, and the Victorian Inn supported our events with lodging. Thank you, folks!

Last but not least, we send out a special thank you to the Festival Committee for Change and the Chamber’s Board of Directors. The members of the Festival Committee worked tirelessly to coordinate and make sure our events were professionally managed. The committee members consist of: Khris Dunham, John Draper, Nikki Campbell, Jennifer Loshaw, Pam Mahan, Karen and Rich Avery, Bruce and Tamera Gulde, and Rob Megna.

Our Board of Directors are: Bill Leo, Chris Bonatti, Nancy Wolkin, Jill Schoenbaum, Michelle Piorer, Karen Avery, Clint Boots, Rob Megna, and Alan Cook. Their continued dedication and teamwork not only support the business community, but the overall vibrancy of our future. Each individual voice represents a difference of ideas and hopes. All in all, they strive for the betterment of Ouray. And we thank them for their volunteer time and efforts.

There are so many people that offered time and support this summer that we can’t name all of you. Please know your time was appreciated more than anyone can possibly imagine. Thank you all!


Jennifer Loshaw, Mary Mitchell, Virginia Ast, Vivian Ferguson
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet