It’s All On at the Sheridan Opera House
by Watch Staff
Dec 27, 2010 | 1229 views | 0 0 comments | 22 22 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Image 1 / 2
COMEDY FEST
The ski season is here, and what better way to end a perfect day on the slopes than with an evening out at Telluride’s Historic Sheridan Opera House. While national names from Chubby Checker to Shawn Colvin are guaranteed to draw crowds, it’s the quirky local productions that are sure to leave you smiling as you think “…only in Telluride.”

If you’re not yet in the holiday spirit, a fantastically funny play from the Sheridan Arts Foundation’s theatre company Second Stage Productions and resident funny man Jeb Berrier, A Tuna Christmas, is sure to get the entire family in the mood, Sunday, Dec. 19-Wednesday, Dec. 22. Then again, what you might really need is a Wintervention, director Warren Miller’s 61st annual ski film, to bring on the holiday cheer in HD, Thursday, Dec. 23.

Support Mountainfilm during its annual winter fundraiser with special guest Wade Davis, Sunday, Dec. 26.

The SAF’s annual holiday concert fundraising series kicks off with an acoustic evening with Shawn Colvin and John Oates, Monday, Dec. 27, followed by the internationally acclaimed Rolling Stones tribute band Satisfaction, Wednesday, Dec. 29. Next in the series is a solo, acoustic show with up-and-comer Clarence Greenwood a.k.a Citizen Cope, Thursday, Dec. 30, with Chubby Checker and the Wild Cats ringing in the new year with a gala performance, Friday, Dec. 31. Reggae legends The Mighty Diamonds wrap up the holiday concert series, Sunday, Jan. 2.

>Switch musical gears with the high-octane Neil Diamond tribute band Super Diamond, Friday, Jan. 14, and the ultimate Michael Jackson tribute band Who’s Bad?, Sunday, Jan. 23. Next, it doesn’t get any more local, or amusing than KOTO’s annual Lipsynch competition (tickets through KOTO only), Friday, Jan 28.

The SAF’s Young People’s Theatre presents high school thespians in the Cole Porter musical Anything Goes, Friday, Feb 4-Monday, Feb. 7. Gorgeous Grace Potter and the Nocturnals rock the house, Thursday, Feb. 10, while top shelf comedians like Rob Corddry, Tig Notaro and Seth Morris bring it to its knees laughing during the 12th Annual Telluride Comedy Festival, Thursday, Feb. 17-Sunday, Feb. 20.

The homegrown Squidshow Theatre puts on a new production, Thursday, Feb. 24-Sunday, Feb. 27, while
“America's Favorite Dragapella Beautyshop Quartet,” The Kinsey Sicks, offers up a riotous good time in conjunction with Telluride Gay Ski Week, Wednesday, March 2.

The five-day Telluride AIDS Benefit fights HIV/AIDS at home and around the world with an opening night reception/silent auction Friday, March 4, the gala fashion show after party Saturday, March 5 and trunk show Monday, March 7.

Joint Point celebrates Mardi Gras during a night of music, costumes and festivities, Tuesday, March 8. Hoedown at the Telluride Adaptive Sports Program’s annual Going Cowboy at the Opera fundraiser, Friday, March 11, followed by two yet undetermined evenings of entertainment, Saturday, March 12 and Saturday, March 19.

Fifty or so talented high school boys in the Roxbury Latin Glee Club impress during an evening of sacred music, folk songs, musical theater pieces, and traditional songs for men’s chorus on Thursday, March 17. The following night the SAF puts on a festive evening of entertainment including a cooking demonstration and four course meal with Spanish wines, all alongside a tango dance demonstration, during its Tapas and Tango spring fundraiser (Friday, March 18).

The Infamous Stringdusters push the boundaries of acoustic music Sunday, March 20, and the Squidshow Theatre returns to the stage with its popular Burlesque Night Friday, March 25. If all that weren’t enough, finally the players of the Telluride Repertory Theatre wind up the season a new production, Saturday, March 26-Tuesday, March 29.

Comments
(0)
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet