Montrose Foundation Awards 2011 College Scholarships
by Watch Staff
Jun 27, 2011 | 1903 views | 0 0 comments | 7 7 recommendations | email to a friend | print
MONTROSE – The Montrose Community Foundation, which contributes to many local nonprofits through endowment-funded grants, has announced its 2011 college scholarship recipients.

The foundation partnered with local service organizations and individual families to give college financial help to area high school seniors through six scholarship funds.

Melanie Hall, the foundation’s executive director, said the scholarships are based on an endowed fund that is permanently invested to yield income and which funds the scholarships.

According to a news release from the foundation, the Montrose Rotary Scholarship recipients this year include Bryce Gaber of Montrose High School, who will attend University of Colorado in Boulder to major in psychology or anthropology to reach his dream of being a trauma psychologist. Also receiving a Rotary Scholarship is Zach Cosper of Olathe High School who will pursue studies in biochemical engineering at Colorado School of Mines with the goal of working in the field of nanotechnology.

The Ada White Memorial Scholarship, established to honor the long-time businesswoman and community leader, was also awarded Gaber.

Mackette McCormack of Montrose High School received the Phil Trumbo Memorial Scholarship, created to encourage students studying math or engineering. McCormack will major in elementary education with an emphasis on math at the University of Northern Colorado in Greeley this fall.

The Ken Gale Memorial Scholarship, established by the Montrose Chamber of Commerce, was awarded to Dominique Youngren, who will attend University of Colorado at Boulder and major in pre-med.

Youngren also received one of the San Juan Coloradans for Nebraska Scholarships. Other recipients were Lauren Bony, who plans to attend the University of Nevada in Reno to pursue a degree in medicine, and Geordyn MacDougall of Ouray High School who will attend University of Denver to major in psychology and eventually become a forensic psychologist.

The Chipeta Chapter of the Archaeology Society established the Squint and Juanita Moore Scholarship to assist students pursuing degrees in anthropology or archaeology. This year’s recipient, Kelsey Fife of Fruita Monument High School, will attend University of Colorado in Boulder to study anthropology and sociology.

For more information about scholarships available through the Montrose Community Foundation, visit
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet