OURAY BRIEFS | Former Mayor Pam Larson Makes Bid For Another Term
by Samantha Wright
Aug 18, 2013 | 1938 views | 0 0 comments | 49 49 recommendations | email to a friend | print

OURAY – Former Ouray Mayor Pam Larson, appointed to the Ouray City Council in July to fill out the remainder of deceased councilor Gary Hansen’s term, will run for the position of mayor once again in the upcoming November election. 

According to Ouray Clerk/Treasurer Kathy Elmont, Larson picked up a nominating petition last week. Current Mayor Bob Risch does not plan to run again. As of press time, no other candidates have picked up nominating petitions for the mayoral race.

Larson, a Ouray native, previously served as mayor for six years before Risch was elected in 2009, and as a city councilor for six years before that. She was also the chair of the Home Rule Charter Commission which crafted Ouray’s Home Rule Charter, approved by Ouray’s electorate in May 2009. 

Two city council seats are also up for grabs in the upcoming election – those of Hansen and Councilor John Ferguson. So far, only two individuals – Charles “Speedy” Scott and Glenn Boyd – and have picked up nominating petitions to run for those two seats. Ferguson is eligible to run for a second term, but he told The Watch last week that he is presently not inclined to do so.

There is still plenty of time for other mayoral and council candidates to get in the race. Petitions must be filed by Aug. 26. Candidates must each gather 25 signatures from registered voters who live within the City of Ouray. The mayoral term is for two years, and the terms for both open council seats are for four years. Nominating petitions are available at the Ouray City Hall.



Community members are invited to attend a reception at the Ouray Community Center from 6-7 p.m. next Thursday, Aug. 22, to meet the four finalists for the Ouray Police Chief vacancy. According to City Administrator Patrick Rondinelli, these finalists were selected from a group of 13 applicants for the position. 

Earlier that day, the four finalists will meet with interview panels comprised of city staff, professional law enforcement personnel from neighboring communities, the Ouray School superintendent, Ouray Chamber Resort Association and citizens from the community. 

According to a news release issued by Rondinelli on Tuesday, the finalists include Travis Anderson, a sergeant with the Montezuma County Sheriff’s Office who also served for 13 years with the Delta Police Department; Ralph Maher, who currently serves with the Fountain Police Department and also previously served four years for the Colorado Department of Corrections; Scott Mills, a Commander of Police Operations for the Los Alamos Police Department where he has served since 1998; and Justin Perry, a Patrol Sergeant with the Montrose Police Department who has also served as a detective since 2002. 

Former Ouray Police Chief Leo Rasmusson resigned along with two of his officers in May. The City of Ouray entered into an intergovernmental agreement in mid-June to engage the services of Cmdr. Gene Lillard of the Montrose Police Department to serve as the part-time interim police chief until the position can be permanently filled.



Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet